Brief Case
U.S. Tax Court

Harold L. & Gladys M. Humberson v. Commissioner

T.C. Memo. 1995-470 · Docket 10066-93 · Decided Oct 3, 1995 · Dawson · T.C. Memo.
Decision for IRS
DAWSON, Judge

: This case was assigned to Special Trial Judge Robert N. Armen, Jr., pursuant to the provisions of section 7443A(b)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, and Rules 180, 181, and 183.1

The Court agrees with and adopts the

the recipient of the balance to the credit of an employee which becomes payable to the recipient--(i) on account of the employee's death, (ii) after the employee attains age 591 /2 , (iii) on account of the employee's separation from the service, or (iv) after the employee has become disabled * * * from a trust which forms a part of a plan described in section 401(a) and which is exempt from tax under section 501 * * * . For purposes of this subsection, the balance to the credit of the employee does not include the accumulated deductible employee contributions under the plan (within the meaning of section 72(o)(5)). [Emphasis added.]

There is no dispute that the Retirement System is a plan described in section 401(a) and that the trust forming a part thereof is exempt from tax under section 501. Moreover, there is no dispute that the Transfer Refund distribution was made within a single taxable year. Therefore, we must decide (1) whether petitioner received the "balance to the credit" when he received the Transfer Refund and (2) whether the Transfer Refund became payable to petitioner "on account of the employee's separation from the service".

In support of her determination that petitioner did not receive the "balance to the credit" when he transferred from the Retirement System to the Pension System, respondent relies on the fact that petitioner's years of creditable service under the Retirement System carried over to the Pension System, see Md. Ann. Code, art. 73B, sec. 144(4) (1988), and on the related fact that those years of service increased the monthly annuity benefit to which petitioner is entitled.

System is calculated by taking into account petitioner's "average final compensation" and petitioner's years of "creditable service". Md. Ann. Code, art. 73B, sec. 145(2) (1988). Because section 402(e)(4)(C) requires that we treat the Retirement System and the Pension System as a single pension plan, we conclude that, by transferring from the Retirement System to the Pension System, petitioner did not forfeit his right to a future monthly annuity, but simply elected to receive an initial single payment to be followed by a reduced monthly annuity. Effectively, petitioner's transfer allowed him to receive the "balance to the credit" in two parts, an initial single payment to be followed by a reduced monthly annuity, based on all of his years of creditable service, and on his salary during those years. See Green v. Commissioner , T.C. Memo. 1994-340.

The testimony of petitioner at trial reflects the foregoing. Thus:

Q: * * * And you transferred to that Pension

System from the Retirement System in 1990; is that correct?

A: Yes, sir.

Q: Okay. Do you know how your pension annuity is currently calculated?

A: It's calculated on your number of years in service and what your salary was.

Q: Okay. And do you know that your annuity was calculated based on all of the years of service that you had, the entire time you've been employed with the State of Maryland?

A: Yes, sir.

Q: So that those years would include the years of which you are a member of the Retirement System; is that correct?

A: Yes.

Q: Thank you. And do you also know that the benefit in particular that you are now receiving under the Pension System is calculated based on all of those years? It's stipulated in paragraph 18, that the benefit you're receiving in the Pension System is calculated by including the years of creditable service recognized under the Retirement System. That's your understanding of what you're receiving now, correct? A: Yes, sir.

In an effort to counter the foregoing, petitioners contend that IRS Publication 575 (Pension and Annuity Income) and IRS Publication 590 (Individual Retirement Arrangements), as well as explications of those publications by the Maryland State Retirement and Pension Systems, support petitioners' position that the Transfer Refund constitutes a "lump sum distribution". This contention, however, is contrary to the well-established principle that the authoritative sources of Federal tax law are the statutes, regulations, and judicial decisions, and not informal publications authored by the Internal Revenue Service or others. Zimmerman v. Commissioner , 71 T.C. 367, 371 (1978), affd. without published opinion 614 F.2d 1294 (2d Cir. 1979); Green v. Commissioner , 59 T.C. 456, 458 (1972). A fortiori, explications of such publications by a Maryland State agency are Petitioners complain that neither the taxable amount of the Transfer Refund nor the amount of petitioner's previously taxed contributions has ever been precisely determined. Here we can In view of the foregoing, we hold that the Transfer Refund did not constitute a lump-sum distribution within the meaning of section 402(e)(4)(A) because petitioner did not receive the "balance to the credit" when he transferred from the Retirement distribution issue that this Court has reached. Sites v. United States , 75 AFTR 2d 95-2504, 95-1 USTC par. 50,280 (D. Md. 1995). The final paragraph of the district court's analysis deserves to be quoted:

The Court believes that the statutory analysis and reasoning of Hoppe [ v. Commissioner , T.C. Memo. 1994635] is sound. Because the Retirement System and Pension System were both maintained by Taxpayer's employer, the State of Maryland, they are to be aggregated for purposes of determining the "balance to the credit" of an employee under section 402(e)(4)(A). Whereas Taxpayer received a refund of his contributions and the accumulated interest, his service credits were transferred to and remained within the Pension System. * * * By choosing to transfer to the Pension System, * * * [Taxpayer] opted * * * to receive a refund of his contributions and accumulated interest along with reduced annuity payments in the future . Thus, in effect, Taxpayer elected to receive the "balance to the credit" of his account in two-parts: the refund payment and the future annuity payments. Consequently, he did not receive the "balance to the credit" of his account on * * * [the Transfer Refund date]. Id.

[75 AFTR 2d 95-2504, 95-1 USTC par. 50280 at 88,031].

Section 72(t) Additional Tax Issue

We turn next to respondent's determination that petitioners are liable for the 10-percent additional tax imposed by section 72(t).

Section 72(t) provides for a 10-percent additional tax on early distributions from qualified retirement plans. Subsection (1), which imposes the tax, provides in relevant part as follows: (1) Imposition of additional tax.--If any taxpayer receives any amount from a qualified retirement plan * * * the taxpayer's tax under this chapter for the taxable year in which such amount is received shall be increased by an amount equal to 10 percent of the portion of such amount which is includible in gross income.

Even though the result we reach here may seem harsh to petitioners, we may not ignore the plain language of the statute and, in effect, rewrite it in order to achieve what might be viewed by them as the more equitable result. See Hildebrand v. Commissioner , 683 F.2d 57, 58 (3d Cir. 1982), affg. T.C. Memo. 1980-532; Zadan v. Commissioner , T.C. Memo. 1993-85. After all, the power to legislate is exclusively the power of Congress and not of this Court or any other. See Iselin v. United States , 270 U.S. 245, 250 (1926).

In view of the foregoing, we sustain respondent's determination that petitioners are liable for the 10-percent additional tax imposed by section 72(t). See O'Connor v. Commissioner , T.C. Memo. 1994-170; Wheeler v. Commissioner , T.C.

Memo. 1993-561; cf. Dorsey v. Commissioner

, T.C. Memo. 1995-97;

Brown v. Commissioner

, T.C. Memo. 1995-93.

Interest

Finally, having concluded that petitioners are liable for the deficiency in income tax, including the 10-percent additional tax imposed by section 72(t), we address petitioner's contention that they should be relieved of liability for interest on the deficiency.

Petitioners impressed the Court as honest and conscientious taxpayers. Unfortunately, they experienced some frustration during the examination of their 1990 income tax return. Although the Court can appreciate petitioners' frustration, we must nevertheless note that matters involving interest do not, as a general rule, fall within the scope of this Court's jurisdiction. Perkins v. Commissioner , 92 T.C. 749, 752 (1989); LTV Corp. v.

Commissioner

, 64 T.C. 589, 597 (1975); see sec. 6404(e); Marine v. Commissioner , 92 T.C. 958, 994 (1989), affd. without published opinion 921 F.2d 280 (9th Cir. 1991); 508 Clinton St. Corp. v. Commissioner , 89 T.C. 352 (1987). Although there are certain narrowly defined exceptions to this rule, none of them apply in this case. See, e.g., sec. 7481(c); Bax v. Commissioner , 13 F.3d 54 (2d Cir. 1993). In short, it is simply not within our power in this case to relieve petitioners from any part of the interest on the deficiency that will be due.

Footnotes

1 This amount consists of $136,681.18 of earnings on petitioner's previously taxed contributions and $234.78 of employer "pick-up" contributions. See supra note 5 and the associated text. appreciate petitioners' frustration because, although these amounts have not differed dramatically, they have not remained constant throughout the administrative and pretrial stages of this case. Nevertheless, petitioners ultimately stipulated to the relevant amounts, and our findings are based on the parties' stipulation.

2 Petitioners resided in Grantsville, Maryland, at the time their petition was filed with the Court.

3 Petitioner's election to transfer from the Retirement System to the Pension System was effective March 1, 1990. The Retirement System is a qualified defined benefit plan under section 401(a) that requires mandatory nondeductible employee contributions. The Pension System is also a qualified defined benefit plan under section 401(a), but generally does not require mandatory nondeductible employee contributions. The State of Maryland contributes to both the Retirement System and the Pension System on behalf of the members of those systems. The trusts maintained as part of the Retirement System and the

4 Of this amount, $158,446.20 was paid to petitioner by check dated March 31, 1990, from the Maryland State Retirement Systems and the balance, or $234.78, was paid by check dated May 31, 1990. Petitioner's Transfer Refund of $158,680.98 includes $21,765.02 in previously taxed contributions and $136,681.18 of earnings.

5 The earnings represent interest and constitute the taxable portion of that part of the Transfer Refund that was paid

6 At the time that petitioner transferred from the Retirement System to the Pension System, he had attained the age of 57. If petitioner had not transferred to the Pension System but had remained a member of the Retirement System, he would have been entitled to retire and receive a normal service retirement benefit, including a regular monthly annuity, under the Retirement System. He would not have been entitled to receive a Transfer Refund, however, because a Transfer Refund is payable only as a consequence of transferring from the Retirement System to the Pension System. Also as a consequence of transferring from the Retirement System to the Pension System, petitioner became a member of the Pension System. As a member of the Pension System, petitioner became entitled to receive a retirement benefit based upon his salary and his creditable years of service, specifically including those years of creditable service recognized under the

7 However, because petitioner received the Transfer Refund on account of transferring from the Retirement System to the Pension System, the monthly annuity that petitioner would receive upon retiring from the Pension System was less than the monthly annuity that he would have received if he had not transferred to the Pension System but had retired under the Retirement System. Petitioner's Retirement On February 28, 1990, after he had elected to transfer from the Retirement System to the Pension System, petitioner executed a Letter of Intent in which he advised the Garrett County Board of Education of his intent to retire by July 1, 1990. Subsequently, on May 7, 1990, petitioner applied to the Maryland State Retirement Systems for a normal service retirement from the Pension System effective July 1, 1990. Two days later, on May 9, 1990, petitioner tendered his resignation to the Garrett County Board of Education effective July 1, 1990. Petitioner retired effective July 1, 1990, after nearly 30 years of service working as a teacher. At that time petitioner was 58 years old. As a result of his retirement, petitioner is receiving a normal service retirement benefit from the Pension System based

8 On their income tax return for 1990, petitioners reported as ordinary income the taxable portion of the Transfer Refund, as

9 Respondent also determined that petitioners are liable for the 10-percent additional tax imposed by section 72(t) based on the distribution in the foregoing amount. OPINION Respondent contends that the Transfer Refund does not qualify for forward averaging because it does not constitute a "lump sum distribution" within the meaning of section

10 A lump sum distribution, for purposes of section 402, is defined in section 402(e)(4)(A) as follows: (A) Lump sum distribution.--For purposes of this section * * * , the term "lump sum distribution" means the distribution or payment within one taxable year of

11 Therefore, petitioners conclude that the "balance to the credit" requirement of section 402(e)(4)(A) is satisfied. We begin our analysis with section 402(e)(4)(C). That section provides, in relevant part, as follows: (C) Aggregation of certain trusts and plans.--For purposes of determining the balance to the credit of an employee under subparagraph (A)--(i) all trusts which are part of a plan shall be treated as a single trust, all pension plans maintained by the employer shall be treated as a single plan * * * . [Emphasis added.] During the years in issue, the State of Maryland maintained both the Retirement System, in which petitioner participated until March 1, 1990, and the Pension System, to which petitioner transferred effective as of that date. Accordingly, in order to decide whether petitioner received the "balance to the credit", we must treat the Retirement System and the Pension System as a single pension plan. Sec. 402(e)(4)(C). Under Maryland law, petitioner's annuity under the Pension

12 Petitioners also contend that the alleged failure by the administrator of the Retirement Plan to provide the written explanation required by section 402(f) is somehow attributable to respondent and requires respondent to assume the burden of proof. The short answer to this contention is that we have decided the issue in dispute without regard to the burden of proof. In any event, section 402(f) imposes a duty on plan administrators and not on the Commissioner.

13

14

15 Accordingly, the Transfer Refund received by petitioner does not qualify for forward averaging under section 402(e)(1). See Hamilton v. Commissioner , T.C. Memo. 1994-633 (addressing whether a taxpayer had received the "balance to the credit" in the context of whether the taxpayer was entitled to compute tax on a transfer refund using the 10year forward averaging method set forth in section 402(e)(1)); Hoppe v. Commissioner , T.C. Memo. 1994-635 (same); Pumphrey v. Commissioner , T.C. Memo. 1995-469 (same); see also Dorsey v. Commissioner , T.C. Memo. 1995-97 (addressing whether a taxpayer had received the "balance to the credit" in the context of whether a Transfer Refund distribution qualified for tax-free rollover treatment under section 402(a)(5); Brown v. Commissioner , T.C. Memo. 1995-93 (same); cf. Wheeler v. Commissioner , T.C. Memo. 1993-561. In closing, we note that in a case decided earlier this year, the United States District Court for the District of Maryland reached the same conclusion in respect of the lump sum

16

17

Sections addressed
Also cites
Related documents